Building Blogs of Science

Open Access Week – 2012

Posted in Health and Medicine, Science, Science and Society by kubke on October 27, 2011

We are now in the middle of Open Access Week – a good time to reflect on how widely we share that which we publish.

The University of Auckland held an event where we got to hear from Helen Ross, Jean Rockel, Felicity Goodyear-Smith and Chris Paton about their experiences in Open Access publishing.

The highlight for me was to hear from Chris Paton.  He described his experience with the Journal of Medical Internet Research and the Journal of Health Informatics in Developing Countries. I had head of Chris, but had never heard what he was doing in the publishing side. As far as I understood, the articles are not only open access, but authors are not charged for publication. Yes, a labour of love. So I had to take a second look, and this caught my eye…

A new feature on the JMIR website, open peer review articles, allows JMIR users to sign themselves up as peer reviewers for specific articles currently considered by the Journal (in addition to author- and editor-selected reviewers).  [From JMIR site]

All I can say is yay! I really like that *anyone* can sign up to review an article. I only wish this was a bit more widespread.

A second OAW yay goes to the Royal Society who just announced that their journal archive will be made free to access. From their site:

From October 2011, our world-famous journal archive – comprising more than 69,000 articles – will be opened up and all articles more than 70 years old will be made permanently free to access.

Why Open Access?

Well, I think the reasons are rather well described in this video:

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris Paton (@DrChrisPaton) said, on October 31, 2011 at 13:42

    Not at the moment. I’m not sure what I think about open review to be honest. I think it might dissuade some people from being negative about submissions. I think negative reviews can be written in a helpful way with enough effort but some people might just take the easy route and only give positive reviews.

    • kubke said, on November 2, 2011 at 12:53

      I have heard your concerns voiced by other people – I think this is what I liked about the JMIR model, that because people can ‘opt in’ to review something, they probably wouldn’t do it unless they have something constructive to contribute?

  2. Chris Paton (@DrChrisPaton) said, on October 27, 2011 at 10:21

    Thanks for the mention Fabiana! It was great to meet you. I’m only involved in JMIR in so far as I have been a peer reviewer but I have been following their activity for a long time. JMIR do charge a processing fee although the JHIDC which I did help to set up doesn’t charge a fee for authors or readers.

    • kubke said, on October 27, 2011 at 10:47

      Thanks for the clarification Chris – Does the JHIDC use a similar open review process? (couldn’t find that on the site)


Leave a Reply

