Building Blogs of Science

Software Freedom Day[s] are here!

Posted in Environment and Ecology, Health and Medicine, Science, Science and Society by kubke on September 17, 2010

A little while ago I started an experiment: can I operate my academic and personal lives by using only open source software?

I often hear the argument that while open source software is ok to fit some needs, it falls short of what it can deliver when it comes to some demands of the academic job. I have always agreed with this position until I asked myself: Based on what do I say that it is so?

So I became my own guinea pig. I installed ubuntu on my netbook (well, the royal I, it was really Tom Parkers from the olpc volunteer community who did that for me), and started adding software that I need for work. I will start sharing my experiences over time on this blog, but I will also bring my computer to Software Freedom Day on Saturday in Auckland to show what I am doing.

What is Software Freedom Day?

Software Freedom Day celebrates free and open source software (FOSS), and there are several events happening in New Zealand spread over the weekend. As the site says:

‘The principles behind FOSS are underpinned by the users’ freedom to run, copy, distribute, study, change and improve the software. You can read more about the four freedoms on the GNU website.’

The events kicked off yesterday in Warrington and there are more events today Friday, S

By Josh Brancroft on Flickr

aturday and Sunday in Wellington, Christchurch, Auckland, Hamilton and Tauranga.

Friday 17th September, 2010

You can come from 4-6 pm to Albany Senior High School, the first open source high school and see what they are doing.

Saturday 18th September 2010

From 10 am to 4 pm we will be at Orion Cafe in Mt Eden in Auckland showing the one laptop per child computers, 3D printers, android phones and a lot more, including some presentations. And we have Sugar on a Stick to give away, but bring an empty 1G or 2G usb stick in case we run out of them.

Or if you are in Hamilton just drop by the Centre Place Mall.

Sunday 19th September 2010

Wellingtonians will have lots of fun stuff from 10 to 5 p at the Victoria University Pipitea Campus. The event is also free but you need to Register! (if your kids are coming, make sure you register them separately!) And they even have some Live music!

If you live near Tauranga, from 11 am to 3 pm activities will be happening at St Mary’s School.

And Christchurch will be sharing the FOSS love at the South Library ICT Learning Centre in Beckenham

Visit the sites, and get all the details of what each place is offering. There is plenty to feed the geek inside us!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dale Dickins, Steven Vincent. Steven Vincent said: A Software Freedom Day event near you: http://t.co/jUTAzQx […]


Leave a Reply

